In terms of waste, even for us, it's confusing and we can make neither head nor tail of the glossary. So we prepared a few key notes to prevent any mistaked and make sure that your recycling efforts are as efficient as they can be.

Recycling is a process of transforming items at the end of their life in order to give them a new use, thus a new life.

This reduces the amount of waste and therefore reduces pollution. But it also preserves natural resources by reusing raw materials already extracted.

The official TRIMAN logo on a packaging indicates to consumers the presence of instructions to follow to optimize the recycling of a product.

A product is biodegradable when it can be decomposed by biological organisms (bacteria, fungi, algae ...) in a favorable environment (conditions of temperature, humidity, light, oxygen, etc.).

This biodegradation results in the chemical and biochemical simplification of the molecules of the product, as well as the mineralization of its carbon in the form of CO. Have we lost you? Biodegradation is the break down of the products integrity.2.

A compostable product is also biodegradable. However it has the added specificity of speedy decomposition in an industrial unit. This is usually done at temperatures between 70 and 80 ° C, with a moisture content around 70% and an oxygen level of some 20%. After several weeks of (bio) degradation, we obtain a product, compost. Compost is an organic residue that improves soil's fertility.

Thus, a compostable product is biodegradable but the opposite is not necessarily true. The EN13432 standard specifies that for a product to be compostable, 90% of its initial dry mass must be biodegraded in less than 3 months.

Compost is a long process but guarantees a naturalness to 100% of the waste reuse process. This method can be considered as the future of recycling to ensure the lifetime of our ecosystem. You can make compost at home, if you have the space, and if you are a city dweller , and no green space of yours, there is the solution of industrial compost.

How to recycle KABIOCA capsules?

Our capsules are Ok Compost certified and totally degraded in 12 weeks in an industrial compost.

All you need is to throw them in the organic or green waste which are sent to the industrial composting plants as per the indications of the local authorities.

There is still no standardization at European level of color codes for green or organic waste bins, so each local authority has its own schedule and collection guidelines.

Industrial compost requires very specific conditions in order to be optimally produced: the light must be low, the temperature and humidity are controlled (about 70 ° C). City waste is reduced (about 30% of household waste in each household) and this method is much more efficient than incineration. Moreover, it is a natural process: the treated waste returns to the ground. Composts of good quality, in sufficient quantity, can even be marketed in supermarkets.

The coffee capsule returns to its origin, ensuring a virtuous cycle of responsible consumption.

For those who do not have a nearby composting unit, nor sorting green waste, you can deposit them with the General waste.

Can we throw the capsules in the home compost?

To comply with the rule of good carbon / nitrogen ratio, capsules can be deposited in very small quantities only in your home compost. The coffee grounds are intrinsecly acidic and may destabilize the balance if it is put in significant quantities.

The capsules will degrade completely between 6 months and two years. You can help the capsules by breaking them when they soften, of course the hotter and more moist the climate, the faster they will degrade.

C’est vrai qu’en matière de déchets, on peut parfois y perdre son latin. Quelques explications sont les bienvenues pour éviter de commettre des petites erreurs de tri pouvant nuire à l’efficacité du recyclage.

Le recyclage est un procédé de transformation des matériaux d’objets en fin de vie afin de leur redonner une nouvelle utilisation, donc une nouvelle vie.

Ceci permet de réduire le nombre de déchets et par conséquent, limiter la pollution. Mais cela permet aussi de préserver les ressources naturelles en réutilisant des matières premières déjà extraites. 

Le logo officiel TRIMAN sur un emballage indique aux consommateurs la présence de consignes à suivre pour optimiser le recyclage d’un produit.
 

Un produit est biodégradable lorsqu'il peut être décomposé par des organismes biologiques (bactéries, champignons, algues…) dans un environnement favorable (conditions de température, d'humidité, de lumière, d'oxygène, etc.).

Cette biodégradation se traduit par la simplification chimique et biochimique des molécules du produit, ainsi que par la minéralisation de son carbone sous forme de CO2.

Un produit compostable est également biodégradable. Mais c'est généralement un produit auquel on aide la décomposition dans une unité industrielle. Celle-ci se fait généralement à des températures comprises entre 70 et 80 °C, avec un taux d'humidité tournant autour de 70 % et un taux d'oxygène de quelque 20 %. Après plusieurs semaines de (bio)dégradation, on obtient un produit, le compost, permettant l'amélioration de la fertilité des sols.

Ainsi, un produit compostable est biodégradable mais l’inverse n’est pas forcément vrai. La norme EN13432 précise que pour qu’un produit soit compostable, 90% de sa masse sèche initiale doit s’être bio-dégradée en moins de 3 mois.

Le compost est un procédé long mais garantissant une naturalité à 100% du processus de réutilisation des déchets. On peut considérer cette méthode comme l’avenir du recyclage afin de garantir la durée de vie de notre écosystème. On peut faire du compost chez soi, où pour les citadins qui n’auraient pas d’espace vert, il y a la solution du compost industriel.

Comment recycler vos capsules KABIOCA ?

Nos capsules sont certifiées Ok Compost et totalement dégradées en 12 semaines dans un compost industriel.

Il faudra les jeter avec les déchets organiques ou verts qui sont envoyés dans les usines de compostage industrielles contrôlées et selon les indications de la commune de résidence. 

Il n’existe pas encore de normalisation au niveau européen des codes couleurs pour les poubelles de déchets verts ou organiques, chaque commune a donc son rythme et consignes de collecte.

Le compost industriel requiert des conditions bien précises afin d’être produit de manière optimale : la luminosité doit être faible et la température et l’humidité sont contrôlées (environ 70°C). Les déchets en ville sont réduits (environ 30% de déchets ménagers dans chaque foyer) et cette méthode est bien plus efficace que l’incinération. De plus, c’est un processus naturel : les déchets ainsi traités retournent au sol. Les composts de bonne qualité, en quantité suffisante, peuvent même être commercialisés en grandes surfaces.

La capsule de café revient donc à son origine, assurant un cycle vertueux de consommation responsable.

Pour ceux qui ne disposent pas d’une unité de compostage proche, ni de tri des déchets verts, vous pouvez les déposer avec les déchets habituels.

Peut-on jeter les capsules dans le compost domestique ?

Pour bien respecter la règle du bon rapport carbone/ azote, les capsules peuvent être déposées en très petite quantité seulement dans votre compost domestique. Le marc de café est en effet acide et risque de déstabiliser l’équilibre s’il est mis en quantité importante.

Les capsules se dégraderont totalement entre 6 mois et deux ans. Vous pouvez aider les capsules en les cassant quand elles se ramollissent, bien sûr plus le climat sera chaud et humide plus elles se dégraderont vite.